Your information hub for running in Nova Scotia, New Brunswick, and Prince Edward Island

Best of the Bluenosers

Run Nova Scotia hands out annual awards

By Andrew Wagstaff
Maritime Runner
Nov. 5, 2017

DARTMOUTH, N.S. – Some of the province’s most committed athletes, volunteers and supporters gathered here on Saturday for Run Nova Scotia’s annual age class awards banquet.
   Following the annual general meeting that took place in the afternoon, the Brightwood Golf and Country Club was the setting for the meal and awards presentation in front of a sold out crowd.
   Run Nova Scotia chair Tim Duguay was jubilant as the successful event wrapped up a busy season that saw the event continue to grow its membership to a current total of more than 900.
   “It’s been kind of fun to have record breaking after record breaking after record breaking,” he said. “So we’re doing something right, clearly.”

Run Nova Scotia chair Tim Duguay (right) hands a Golden Shoe Award to Kevin Robinson, who took part in all 23 of this year’s road race series events. This was one of many awards presented at the annual banquet at the Brightwood Golf and Country Club in Dartmouth, N.S. on Saturday, Nov. 4. Photos from all award presentations can be found at our Facebook page here .

Andrew Wagstaff photo

   The majority of the award presentations were for the top age class finishers for both the road race series and the performance series, the results of which were already known prior to the banquet. But several of the awards were voted on by members, and left as surprises.
   Among those awards were for male and female volunteers of the year, which went to Trudy Flynn and Ed Cobb.
   “No one knew who was going to win, which is one of the things we really wanted to happen, so watching the glow from their faces was fantastic,” said Duguay. “Both Trudy and Ed do so much behind the scenes that no one knows… so many members out there do so much volunteer stuff that no one knows, so it was a way to recognize that.”
   Other awards voted on by members included the Rookie of the Year award, which went to Kevin Dutchak, the Ambassador of the Year award, which went to Stan Sarty, and the Supporter of the Year award, which went to Luke MacDonald.
   Other special presentations included the Golden Shoe awards to the members who participated in the most Run Nova Scotia series events this year. For women, Shelley Slauenwhite and Joliene Stockley tied with 18 events each while, for the men, Kevin Robinson was a runaway winner, having taken apart in all 23 events in the road race series.
   The performance series awarded the top five male and female finishers in the open category, with Colleen Wilson taking top spot in the female open category, followed by Emily Hamilton, Denise Robson, Rayleen Hill and Paula James. Stephanie Seaward won the 40-49 masters category, while Karen Marlin was first in the 50-plus category.
For the men, only 30 seconds separated open category winner Matt McNeil and second place finisher Calvin Dewolfe, while rounding out the top five were Greg Wieczorek, Matthias Mueller and Gavin Hatheway. Jeff Ratushny was first in the 40-49 group, while Wade Were won in the 50-plus category.
   “We had a pretty good turnout, and tried a few new races that seemed pretty successful,” said series coordinator Matt McNeil. “I changed the layout of the series a bit, in terms of timing some of the races, and got a lot of positive feedback on that, so that was good.”
  It was a good year for both series, and Duguay promises more exciting things ahead for 2018.
  "There are already rumours about what races are going to be included," he said. "It's going to be intense when they get announced."
   The road race series winners, by age category, are as follows:
Under 20 – Emme Morin, Katelyn Richards, Bridget MacLean, Laurel Ratushny;
25-29 – Sophie Jobin, Jennie Orr, Sarah Perron;
30-34 – Cheryl Smith, Stephanie Jones, Jennifer Kennedy, Emily Hamilton, Laura Whynacht;
35-39 – Chloe Austin, Patricia Jones, Cheryl Crocker, Donna Ratushny, Odessa Bezanson;
40-44 – Paula James, Shelley Slauenwhite, Joliene Stockley, Lisa Ladouceur, Sarah Abriel;
45-49 – Stacy Chesnutt, Shannon Monk, Sheila Grover, Shelley Greene, Tanya Munroe;
50-54 – Karen Marlin, Valerie Morgan, Virginia Joudrey, Betty Boutilier, Ellie Wallace;
55-59 – Nancy Holland, Sandy Banks, Michele Mitchell, Shelley Ellis, Peggy Falkenham-Boutilier;
60-64 – Louise LeDuc, Connie Meister, Marion Bowes, Trudy Flynn, Patti McNeil;
65-69 – Alice Patrick, Catherine Berry, Laura Roblee, Vicky Dwyer, Donalda Cody;
70-74 – Shirley Robichaud, Jenny Keenan;
Under 20 – Aiden Flynn Dolliver, Matthew Ratushny, PJ Maclean;
25-29 – Richard Wile, Bradley Fiander, Jason Mossman, Michael Bergeron;
30-34 – Ryan Hutchinson, Brent Platt, Danny Laplante;
35-39 – Matthew White, Tim Duguay, Jeff Goodine, Drew Moore, Ian Whynacht;
40-44 – Cory Richards, Jeff Ratushny, Gerry Killam, Evan Richard, Darrell Morgan;
45-49 – Don Perry, Andrew Hanlon, David Martin;
50-54 – Kevin Robinson, Mark Peverill, Todd MacLean, Chris Broyden, Christopher Oss;
55-59 – Pierre Laberge, David Nevitt, Kevin Dutchak, Thomas Mitchell, Roy Banks;
60-64 – Terry Morris, William Lovett, Jeffrey Oakes, Doug Coulter, Jimmy Wells;
65-69 – Phil Reid, Fabian Flynn, Kevin Cody, Dave Huelin, Bob Edwards;
70-74 – Chris Anderson, Mike Jessome, Wayne Banks, Brian Lowe;
75-79 – Bob Brake;
80-84 – Malcolm Pain, John Rideout;
85-plus – Arnold Robertson.